Author Topic: Landrace soy beans  (Read 341 times)

Kevin Collignon

• New to Landrace vegetables and plant breeding and by most standards new to Gardening. But I am jumping in with both feet I am her to learn.
    • View Profile
    • Email
  • Koppen zone: CFA
  • Hardiness Zone: USDA 8b / 9a
Landrace soy beans
« on: 2021-03-20, 06:51:21 PM »
I am new here and this might not be as in depth of conversations that most look for on here, but I was wondering if any one had experience with landrace or breeding soy beans?

Soy is something that I would like to have as a staple in my garden but I have limited experience growing it.
This might be a stupid question but is Soy bean at risk with crossing with other standard bush beans?
I am have measly two varieties of soy beans that I am growing this year but I plan on adding to the mix as I can acquire more varieties.

If someone could share their experience with me or hopefully point me in the direction of somewhere I could get a soy bean mix to help jump start my selecting for a landrace that would be amazing.

Full time small scale farmer and aspiring landrace plant breeder. Current breeding focus for the season are Tomatoes, Melons, watermelons, and potatoes.

Jeremy Weiss

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Landrace soy beans
« Reply #1 on: 2021-03-20, 07:18:16 PM »
No, soy won't cross with standard beans. Different species, different genera (Phaseolus versus Glycine)

Before I can really give good advice for making a landrace, it would help to know what your goal is for the resultant soy mix, in particular what you are going to do with the soy.
Animal feed? Tofu/Soymilk? Edamame? Soy sauce/bean sauce? Depending on what you plan to do with the beans, it changes what type of varieties you would want to acquire.