Author Topic: Shenanigans at Homestead Nowhere  (Read 227 times)

Kadence Luneman

• View Profile
  • Hardiness Zone: 6a, USDA
Shenanigans at Homestead Nowhere
« on: 2022-07-27, 02:44:15 AM »
Hi! I read alot on here and finally am posting and not just lurking. I have gardened just a little in the past but helped alot in other people's gardens. I'm also a research addict so I'm a very highly informed newb! Ha!

I am a farmer and fiber artist primarily. I have sheep and work with wool and natural fibers. I also have chickens for eggs and meat. A border collie, Scotty, whom he and I need training for sheep herding. And just this month Dad got three dairy goats so of course I went along and had to buy one too. I live with Dad on the family farm, 250 acres total, less than 2 acres is dad's. Last year I raised a hog and would like to do hogs again if I can make it work.

I'm in Ohio, USA. Right about the area where Ohio, PA, and WV meet. Zone 6a. Average precipitation 40 inches per year says the internet. In reality sometimes the rain turns off in mid June and we might not get rain (more than wetting the grass, real soak in rain) until the end of August. I think it was five years ago it was like that, rain always went around us somehow and I was actually worried there could be a grass fire. Fifteen miles away the river was over the banks and lots of people were losing horses to an illness spread by water bugs that were washed all over the pastures.. and repeatedly..
So ya, lots of valleys and hills and microclimate going on here.. Ok I think that's all the main background points.

This year...

I decided to put in a big garden! And then there were rocks! And more rocks.. And a huge stone.. And another.. So dad hit the area with a double bottom plow and the next following week I was hauling rocks.. and metal.. and glass..