Author Topic: Planning for a 2023 tomato breeding project  (Read 327 times)

Cathy A

• View Profile
    • Email
  • Koppen zone: Dfb
  • Hardiness Zone: USDA 4b
Planning for a 2023 tomato breeding project
« on: 2022-06-17, 09:05:50 AM »

I'm beginning to make plans now for a small-scale tomato breeding project aimed at getting varieties well adapted to zone 4 Vermont. Goals include a long, productive season; ability to reseed, sprout, and make productive fruit without needing to be pre-started inside; some frost tolerance, able to handle ~30F without cover or mid-20s F with cover; and ability to set fruit when nights are below 50F and days are cool but not cold; and tolerance for growing and fruiting in less than full sun.

I've been gardening in this location for almost 10 years, including tomatoes for most of that time. I've tried a number of varieties, including Sub Arctic, Siberian, Celebrity, Sungold F1, Amish Paste, Roma, Brandywine, Black Cherry, Isis Candy, and a few others.  Generally any of these produce good tomatoes in my location, growing in excellent soil (not my native clay, class 6w) in well-drained raised beds. They get good sun for some hours a day, but there is no place in my yard surrounded by forest that truly gets full sun. Last frost is historically around May 23, first frost around September 23, though it's not unusual for last frost to be a week or two either way and first frost often has several weeks of Indian summer afterward with little frost. Winter here lasts about 5 months, typically has 1 - 2 feet of snow on the ground from late December through March, and temperatures are routinely below zero F at night during the coldest months.