Author Topic: Tomato traits  (Read 621 times)

Debbie P

• View Profile
    • Email
Tomato traits
« on: 2020-01-12, 07:09:18 AM »
Hi. Does anyone know of a good resource listing tomato genes and their dominance, linkage, etc.?  I'm interested in starting a first-time tomato breeding project this summer and could use a few pointers.  I already have an old Soviet ultra-early, short, rugose, tree stem determinate that I like the qualities of and want to keep with the exception of introducing the tangerine gene.   The tangerine donor that I have in mind is an indeterminate.  As I might have mentioned in my introduction, I'm a Biologist with a good working knowledge of genetics, but new to plant breeding.   I'd be grateful for any feedback or information that might help me get started.

Debbie

ImGrimmer

• View Profile

William S.

• View Profile
Re: Tomato traits
« Reply #3 on: 2020-01-12, 08:32:28 AM »
Sounds kind of like Krainy Sever. Nice upright early keeps the fruit off the ground.

All the earliest are boring red. I like the idea of changing that.

I have an Amurski Tigr cross in yellow as of last year.
Western Montana garden, glacial lake Missoula sediment lacustrian silty clay mollisoil sometimes with added sand in places. Zone 6A with 100 to 130 frost free days

Debbie P

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: 2020-01-12, 11:32:22 AM »
Thank you. This is the kind of information I was hoping to find.  My tomato definitely isn't Krainy Sever, but may have similar breeding. Unfortunately it came without an original name, so I don't know.  From the links, it looks like there are quite a few mutations that result in dwarf phenotypes...

Debbie

Nicollas

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #5 on: 2020-01-20, 04:41:27 AM »
To introduce a single recessive trait you can make recurrent back-crossing with a two-years selection (to recover the recessive t allele)

Debbie P

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #6 on: 2020-01-20, 08:36:40 AM »