Author Topic: Arable land requirements for vegetable breeding  (Read 187 times)

triffid

• View Profile
    • Email
Arable land requirements for vegetable breeding
« on: 2019-02-05, 10:59:56 PM »
It would be interesting to know from the indie plant breeding community how much land one uses to breed, select and proliferate the seed of new varieties. I'd imagine the area varies quite a lot depending on location, crop and desired outcomes. Would any be willing to give a newbie some insight?

I've been aiming for around 1/2 acre for a 'living gene-bank' - for the conservation and re-breeding of some heritage legumes, potatoes and flax to be adapted to the local climate and able to thrive in the new extremes.  Is this a feasible size to start with?

Many thanks in advance.

William S.

• View Profile
Re: Arable land requirements for vegetable breeding
« Reply #1 on: 2019-02-06, 07:51:42 AM »
As a hobbyist I use less. This is just driven by time as I have plenty of space. My total garden size is rarely more than 1/4 acre. A gardener could if following Elliot Coleman's advice manage up to 2.5 acres if working full time.

I wouldn't discourage anyone no matter how small a plot.

If we collaborate amongst ourselves we can overcome  any deficiency in plot size.

We can also overcome plot size deficiencies over time. For example: Grow out part of an F2 per year.

Western Montana garden, glacial lake Missoula sediment lacustrian clay mollisoil sometimes with added sand in places. Zone 6A

Ferdzy

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2019-02-06, 07:59:32 AM »
Yes, I'd be inclined to think that's enough space for a quite a lot of things. We have about that, I think. However, what we also have is a lot of space around the actual vegetable garden which is "clean". By which I mean no-one else is growing out flowering vegetables, and there are a lot of windbreaks in the form of trees, hedges, etc. I suspect that is a thing to consider.

Joseph Lofthouse

• Administrator